Still (In) Motion

Posted: July 1, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

‘Photography takes an instant out of time, altering life by holding it still’ – Dorothea Lange

Ever thought about the beautiful images on pieces of paper that gives us memories of lifetime. Those same pieces which we keep close to our hearts, some of the people under their pillows, some frame them in the rooms; some keep them in their wallets and some on the laptops.

If we follow the Greek derivation and write it down in a word photography would mean that would mean ‘to draw light’. Photograph is, merely, an action of light on a sensitive material.
Photography is both an art and a science. Photography allows us to express our feeling and emotions, but to do so we need to master the scientific part of the medium. Unlike a painter, who is in direct contact with his subject and his canvas, a photographer is separated from his subject by the camera and from his “canvas” by computers and printers today and by darkroom equipment previously.

I have recently picked up this hobby of taking photographs. Although I was always interested in photography, but never inculcated it as a hobby. But recently I realized the beauty of the pictures and the long lasting memories behind them and there started ‘The Flash’.

With the passing time there are a few realizations that one makes. One of them regarding moving the camera being, full awareness of what makes a good photo is essential in taking great photographs. As in, why would anyone be interested in this photo and what elements can be included or excluded to make it truly great?
Wisely said by Ansel Adams, “You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”

There has been an artist inside me since a pretty young age, god gift I call it. I paint, oil on canvas, mostly. Inspirations from the surroundings to paint made me figure out the aesthetic beauty of Mother Nature, human built architectures, of places others wouldn’t really notice, all of which couldn’t be captured on the canvas but on camera.

I don’t even remember how many photographs I have taken till now. I take out thousands of pictures to reach a point where I begin to evaluate them objectively. I look upon photos as if I was looking at them through someone else’s eyes is a good way, it gives me constructive criticism.

I make it a point that I am never fully satisfied with what I have in the lens. Because it is very likely that the best photograph has not yet been captured. And if I am put up with the question of my favorite photograph? I would say it will probably be the one I’d take tomorrow.

All I have been observing is that people give a story backup to their photographs. From my point of view, a photograph should speak for itself.

I tend to follow the concept of Garry Winogrand,
“If I saw something in my viewfinder that looked familiar to me, I would do something to shake it up”
Often I come across a photo that is missing something, thinking, “This is a good photo but I’d make it different somehow”? Sometimes small things make a big difference. So there I move my hand and shake it up.

I remember this quote by Aaron Siskind, “Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”

With every day passing by, and every area I cross, now I make a point I have it captured. It may look stupid if you find me sitting in the middle of the road and clicking around, but this is what is going to frame up my memories later. May be, when I’d be 80, I would open up the album and give a huge smile with broken teeth and say, ‘Oh! I still remember how I clicked this one!’

Comments
  1. Mridul Joshi says:

    great u started writing blog and stuff!!! of late i have understood ur photographic genius quite well !!

Leave a Reply

